Member Spotlight:

Sierra

Sierra Van Ryck DeGroot Education Assistant The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

Sierra's exposure to the arts began in the womb with the carefully selected playlists of her parents hoping to awaken the creative nature of their child. Since then, she has aspired to be a vet, biomedical illustrator, astronaut, and graphic designer before finding her "just right" match in museum education. 

A proud alumna of Seton Hall University (B.A in Graphic Design, Fine Art and Art History) and Bank Street College of Education (M.S.Ed in Museum Education with a specialization in Childhood Education), Sierra explores the intersections of art, design, history, and play in her work as the Education Assistant at the Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum. You can often find her covered in glue and some form of marker, paint or glitter, surrounded by children or in a gallery, in the midst of a tableau. 

She is the current Secretary and Peer Group Liaison for the NYCMER Board.

NYCMER is a volunteer, non-profit organization, led by a board of trustees nominated by members to represent our diverse field.

 

Elections take place each spring and the results are announced at our annual conference in May. If you are interested in learning more about the board, please contact info@nycmer.org. Below is a list of the current Board members: 

 

Officers

President: Charlotte Martin

president@nycmer.org

 

Vice President: Dawnette Samuels

vicepresident@nycmer.org

 

Secretary and Peer Group Liaison: Sierra Van Ryck deGroot

info@nycmer.org

 

Treasurer: Kira Lacks

treasurer@nycmer.org

 

Appointed Trustees

Archivist: Lacey Flint

archivist@nycmer.org

 

Membership Coordinator: Sarah Maldonado

membership@nycmer.org

 

Event and Job Listings Coordinator: Anthea Song

postings@nycmer.org

 

Resources and Social Media Coordinator: Araya Henry

resources@nycmer.org

 

Website Coordinator: Akash Sharma

web@nycmer.org

 

Trustees-at-Large

Edna Gonzales

Jamie Lawyer

Leah Golubchick

Leigh Wells

Melissa Gerstein

Michelle Friedman

Schuyler Schuler

Stephanie Zank

Taylor Vecchio

Zahra Ahmed

 

Learn more about the board below:

 

Akash  Sharma

Daily Operations Specialist

New York Hall of Science

asharma@nysci.org

Anthea Song

Associate Manager, Public Programs

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

asong@guggenheim.org

Araya Henry

Museum Educator: Youth Programs

Hudson River Museum

ahenry@hrm.org

Charlotte Martin

Manager of Access Initiatives

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

president@nycmer.org

Dawnette Samuels

Museum Educator

Rubin Museum of Art

dsamuels@rubinmuseum.org

Edna Gonzales

Conservation Educator

Queens Zoo (WCS)

3478042490

egonzales@wcs.org

Jamie Lawyer

Educational Resources Coordinator

Rubin Museum of Art

2126205000

jlawyer@rubinmuseum.org

Kira Lacks

Assistant Director of College Events

Teachers College, Columbia University

treasurer@nycmer.org

Lacey Flint

Archivist and Curator of Research Collections

The Explorers Club

212-628-8383-28

lflint@explorers.org

Leah Golubchick

Manager, Middle and High School Programs

Youth Initiatives at AMNH

212-496-3529

lgolubchick@amnh.org

Leigh  Wells

Deputy Director for Programs and Operations

Community-Word Project

212-962-3820

leighflet@gmail.com

Melissa Gerstein

6463695247

mgerstein@nymer.org

Michelle Friedman

Head of Education and Academic Initiatives

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

203-438-4519-146

mfriedman@aldrichart.org

Sarah Maldonado

Program Director

The Child Center of NY

sarah.grace.maldonado@gmail.com

Schuyler Schuler

New-York Historical Society

schuyler.schuler@nyhistory.org

Sierra Van Ryck DeGroot

Education Assistant

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

7326180452

svanryckdegroot@aldrichart.org

Stephanie Zank

Educator

Museum of Chinese in America

626-632-4857

stephanieannand@gmail.com

Taylor Vecchio

Educator

Onassis Foundation

5166721674

tvecchio@voicesadvance.com

Zahra Ahmed

Manager of School Programs

(917) 409-1207

zahmed@cmany.org