Member Spotlight:

Elysia

Elysia Segal Actress / Costumed Interpreter New York Transit Museum

Elysia Segal is an actress, Senior Costumed Interpreter at the New York Transit Museum, Living Historian at the New-York Historical Society, and a board member of the International Museum Theatre Alliance. She has written and performed as numerous historical characters including a citizen-scientist from 1880, a train conductor from 1917, a journalist at the 1964 World's Fair, and a personification of the iconic "Madonna of the Trail" statues. She has also created a number of educational family shows on topics such as the history of Grand Central Terminal, electricity in the subway (Time Warner grant recipient), the MTA's Music Under New York program, and even an Epic Rap Battle about weather preparedness and sustainability!

No stranger to interactive science and history, Elysia has also performed at the Bronx/Central Park Zoos, led ghost tours through Greenwich Village, played characters at Disney World and won first place at the INTEL International Science and Engineering Fair. A graduate of NYU Tisch, she has additionally performed in numerous musicals, films and theatrical workshops and is a member of AAM, IMTAL, ALHFAM, DAR, Actors' Equity and SAG-AFTRA. ElysiaSegal.com

NYCMER is a volunteer, non-profit organization, led by a board of trustees nominated by members to represent our diverse field.

 

Elections take place each spring and the results are announced at our annual conference in May. If you are interested in learning more about the board, please contact info@nycmer.org. Below is a list of the current Board members: 

 

Officers

President: Kinneret Kohn

 

Vice President: Kira Lacks

 

Secretary and Peer Group Liaison: Katie Henry

info@nycmer.org

 

Treasurer: Erin Shaw´╗┐

treasurer@nycmer.org

 

Appointed Trustees

Archivist: Lacey Flint

archivist@nycmer.org

 

Membership Coordinator: Sarah Maldonado

membership@nycmer.org

 

Resources and Social Media Coordinator: Rachel Ropeik

resources@nycmer.org

 

Website Coordinator: Akash Sharma

web@nycmer.org

 

Trustees-at-Large

Charissa Ruth

Charlotte Martin

Claire Buckley

Daniel O'Shoney

Danielle Hillanbrand

Jennifer Patton

Leah Golubchick

Leigh Wells

Melissa Gerstein

Zahra Ahmed

 

 

Learn more about the board below:

 

Akash  Sharma

Daily Operations Specialist

New York Hall of Science

asharma@nysci.org

Charissa Ruth

Lead Educator

Gulliver's Gate

8595528140

charissa.ruth@gmail.com

Charlotte Martin

Manager of Access Initiatives

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

cmartin@intrepidmuseum.org

Claire Buckley

Conservation Educator

Prospect Park Zoo/Wildlife Conservation Society

(718) 399-7339-324

clairecbuckley@gmail.com

Daniel  O'Shoney

Coordinator of Professional Development

Wildlife Conservation Society

718-265-2671

doshoney@wcs.org

Danielle Hillanbrand

Student at Brooklyn College

3028417186

danihillud@gmail.com

Erin Shaw

Coordinator of Youth Education Initiatives & BCAP

Brooklyn Public Library

718-230-2753

EShaw@bklynlibrary.org

Jennifer Patton

Educator

New-York Historical Society

6172568638

jpatton124@gmail.com

Katie Henry

School & Family Programs Manager

Friends of the High Line

katie.henry@thehighline.org

Kinneret Kohn

Manager of Teen Programs

New-York Historical Society

KKohn@nycmer.org

Kira Lacks

Public Programs Manager

American Museum of Natural History

klacks@nycmer.org

Lacey Flint

Archivist and Curator of Research Collections

The Explorers Club

212-628-8383-28

lflint@explorers.org

Leah Golubchick

After School Coordinator

Youth Initiatives at AMNH

212-496-3529

lgolubchick@amnh.org

Leigh  Wells

Deputy Director for Programs and Operations

Community-Word Project

212-962-3820

leighflet@gmail.com

Melissa Gerstein

Bard Graduate Center

6463695247

mgerstein@nymer.org

Rachel Ropeik

Manager of Public Engagement

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

rropeik@guggenheim.org

Sarah Maldonado

Program Director

The Child Center of NY

sarah.grace.maldonado@gmail.com

Zahra Ahmed

Manager of School Programs

(917) 409-1207

zahmed@cmany.org